top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Beauty is Within the Eye of the Beholder

This is a continuation of the pictures from the lake but it's a different kind of shot. This time I had focused on capturing people. Taking pictures of people is so much different from taking pictures of nature in the sense that I can tell people what to do and I can't tell nature what to do. It was definitely a little harder because people like nature are unpredictable and I don't know what to expect from them half the time. But since I had my family they weren't too bad to deal with.

I enjoy this picture up above of my younger cousin Ali because I think it definitely captures her smiley personality. I also enjoy the way it's composed that she's the main focus of the picture. The lighting is something that I love because since it was a cloudy day and we were by dark water it created a nice grey/whitish tone to everything and it's a very natural looking picture. Something I'd want to change is zooming a little closer to her face just because I could definitely crop the picture a little bit and put the rest of her head in the shot.

The picture on the left is of my brother EJ sleeping on the car ride back home. It had just gotten done raining and the sun was peeking out and it painted EJ in this soft yellow light and it looked awesome. It's such a calming shot and the rays of the sun coming down looks amazing. The lighting is honestly my favorite part of the shot. The one thing that I would love to redo is getting more of his face in the picture because the light washes out his features and maybe do a better angle because it's a very flat looking picture since it's just a straight on shot. I'm thinking that maybe I could've turned this into a silhouette shot and just completely turn him into a shadow and have the sun glow from behind him.I wanted to work on action shots.

I'm not very good when it comes to capturing motion unless I'm filming and even then my shots can fall a little flat because I haven't built up the confidence to do action shots unless someone is there with me. So I had asked EJ to go run and jump in the lake. As he ran down the dock I took dozens of photos. So every little motion he did was captured and I was able to get him in mid-air. I really liked the form he did because its so unique. I just wished that I would have gotten closer or get the full shot instead of him jumping out of frame. It's definitely and interesting composition I enjoy it enough but if I had a choice it would be to get the whole shot in the frame.

This little journey I had went on helped me figure out my identity as a photographer and a cinematographer. I realized that I enjoy natural lighting the best because it paints objects in a very unique kind of light and to me that's beautiful. I had realized that action shots aren't as scary as I anticipated and that silhouette shots are actually pretty easy if I tried. It was such an amazing experience and I'm glad I was able to learn more about myself, my camera and my world that surrounds me.

Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Google+ - Black Circle
bottom of page